Honorary members

As a sign of recognition for their services to the association, Aquamania has appointed four people as honorary members of the association.

Jeroen van Bergen

The man who built the bath for Aquamania for the first time is Jeroen van Bergen: our first Praeses. He came up with the idea in the early 90s to set up a student association that is entirely on practicing water polo. Together with his roommate, he went looking for like-minded people and found a group of about twenty people who came together at De Vliet swimming pool, during the summer at 7 o’clock in the morning, to train.

After this cautious approach in 1991, the First Leiden Student Water Polo Association was founded on 17 June 1992 under his leadership.

Ingmar “Aquatollah” Kooman

As every major organization, Aquamania also has a Great Leader, nicknamed ‘Aquatollah’. This man has, with some help, kept our grand club alive for three years and with his management plans like ‘More’ and ‘Just more and better’, he empowered Aquamania to reach until then, unknown heights.
Before, during and after his three board years, once as Abactis and twice as Praeses, Ingmar has always been one of the drivers within the association. There is almost no committee in which he did not partake. He has participated in the NSZKs and can still be found there. He almost always takes part in Aquactivities, eventually to do ‘one more cassis’. If people were encouraged to participate in activities, committees or competitions, Ingmar had already started recruiting before others thought of it. He still gives training, and does so with verve. This GMM tiger is also still an advisory body for management and committees, even though, or perhaps precisely because, it has been a part for almost 20 years. As Yvette once said during nomination: “Sometimes Ingmar was just Aquamania.”
Due to extraordinary commitment during the ups and downs of the association, Ingmar ‘Aquatollah’ Kooman deserved to be appointed as honorary member or ELSZWV Aquamania.

Nominated by:

  • Yvette Roozen
  • Anke Hoekstra
  • Floor Bakels
  • Elske van den Berg
  • Auke Bergsma
  • Ivo Beetz?

Robert Pijpers

Robert joined Aquamania in 2003 and soon, he took part in the training sessions of Wietse. He took care of the association for six years. In addition, he has the position of Assessor Water polo for two years, in the boards of ’04 -’05 and ’05 -’06, together with the foundation of the Aqualliance subsidiary on August 25, 2005. The founding, together with Wietse, is still celebrated annually with a coke light, if possible in Oegstgeest, at the neighborhood’s notary.

This versatile Aquamaniac, as a member, trainer, board member and dad of Aqualliance, has made an incredibly important contribution to the growth and flowering or Aquamania’s water polo branch and Aqualliance subsidiary. That is why he deserves to be appointed honorary member of ELSZWV Aquamania and Aqualliance.

Nominated by:

the ‘old guard’

  • Mireille Esseveld
  • Floor van Mensvoort
  • Klaas-Jan Kremer
  • Daan Kremer
  • Wietse Veenstra

Wietse Veenstra

The fact that Wietse has not been mentioned in any almanac and has never fulfilled a management function, perhaps makes it a bit strange that he has just become an honorary member. Wietse is since 2001 the floating, inexhaustible and silent power of Aquamania in the background. He has taken many initiatives in the past that now determine the body of Aquamania. For example, he founded two associations: the Aquafossils, the Aquamania reunion association, and Aqualliance, the Aquamania daughter association that was used to play in the NCS water polo competition. In addition, he has been inspecting treasurer in the KasCo for more than 10 years, he has been in the technical committee for several years and, together with Robert, has provided many training courses. He is still emphatically present at GMMs and he is still committed to Aquamania tournaments and water polo. He is someone who the association can still count on, even after being already a long time of Aquafossile.

Nominated by:

  • Anneleen Lange
  • Martijn van der Lienden
  • RenĂ©e Noest
  • Mireille Esseveld
  • Sylvia van der Kall

With support from: Robert Pijpers and Yvette Roozen